Conversions & Swaps LSX Engines in Non-LSX Vehicles
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1981 Camaro 5.3/4L60E Tight Budget Build

Search this Thread

Old 08-13-2014, 12:01 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1981 Camaro 5.3/4L60E Tight Budget Build

Hi guys, new to the forums but I've been lurking through here for quite some time seeing what guys have done and getting ideas. I always wanted to do an LSx swap on a car, seems like it's a drop-in swap nowadays and it's really easy to do, even for someone that doesn't have much experience with swaps (I'm kind of in between there, I have some mechanical experience, but haven't taken on any big projects. Figured this can be my first step.)

I've owned a rusty and trusty (for the most part) '81 Chevy Camaro for a while already with a 350SB and what I'm guessing is a TH350 trans. It's getting kinda worn out already, burning oil, horrible gas mileage, etc. I haven't done much besides replacement brake lines front to back, new drums/hardware on the rear, calipers/pads/rotors on the front and master cylinder/prop valve. That's just about it.

I really want to freshen it up and put some life back into it, but can't really go out and spend all this cash on it (as much as I'd want to at least) because I have other priorities and need this car to be running. Sooo... I notice a good amount of guys using budget motors like the 5.3 and 6.0 from junkyard specials, seems like that would be a good way to go for me.

I already have somewhat of an idea on what I need/want:
~Engine- 5.3 LM7
~Trans - 4L60E
~Oil Pan - LS1 seems to be the better choice from what I've seen
~Swap mounts - Seen a few use Car Shop with setback plates, a few others have homemade mounts and other use eBay mounts. I can probably figure out which is best for my set up
~Driveshaft - Same situation as above I guess
~Wiring harness - Came across LT1swap.com and already have an idea of what to do with the harness.