Conversions & Swaps LSX Engines in Non-LSX Vehicles
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Couple quick questions

Old 11-13-2014, 02:31 PM
TECH Resident

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Couple quick questions

OK, I am new to the LS engines and am an old school guy when it comes to engines. I tried to find the answers on the forums here but didn't really see any hard answers on this. So thanks in advance for the advice.

I am going to install a cast iron blocked LS 6.0 and 4L80 trany out of an early 2000 model 3/4 to 1 ton truck. It will go into a 97 S10.

I am going to run a carb and the MSD box for the coils. I want to get the truck running pretty quick so I don't want to build a race motor just yet. I will buy the parts I need over a little time due to budget restraints right now for a good build later.

This is going to be a drag truck. Might drive it on the street but its not a daily driver. So radical is good. This is to play with while I gather what I need for the real build.

I want to know what the best cam I can get for the most HP with the stock valve train. I will change the valve springs if needed and probably the converter. I just don't want to replace, valves, rockers, do head work ect right now. Also what size carb is recommended. So all I want to do on day one is install a good cam, intake and carb, headers and let it rip.

The final plan is to build a full race motor for the strip. But that's later on.

Thanks for the info.
Old 11-13-2014, 03:31 PM
12 Second Club

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Springs, retainers, locks, seats, seals and push rods are a must with any respectable cam. Timing chain and oil pump too. How high do you want to rev? Where do you want the power band? What RPM stall? The thing is to assemble that list and talk to a cam grinder. There are several good ones. Intended use and symphony of other parts will determine which one is best and not an internet poll IMHO.
Old 11-14-2014, 06:49 AM
TECH Resident