Conversions & Swaps LSX Engines in Non-LSX Vehicles
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

5.3 LS swap no start please help!!!

Search this Thread

Old 07-24-2015, 06:19 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 5.3 LS swap no start please help!!!

Hey yall I'm relatively new to the LS game and have done some extensive research and searching before trying to post what may seem like a redundant question. I already installed a 5.3 into a truck for a friend and did the wiring according to the instructions on lt1swap and had the computer flashed as well and it started right up when I tried it. However I installed a 2004 5.3 into my 77 k5 and it will not start. I checked for power at each coil and they checked out as 12v the ground and the computer controlled ground were good as well. (Not sure how to check the trigger wire though) I then check for 12v at crank sensor and that was good and the ground was good as well. I just can not figure out what the problem is. All grounds are connected to the engine block as they were in the donor truck. Also checked each ground wire at the computer and they were good as well. but from reading other swap no start problems I have tried the same solutions that got them results to start but I have had no success. Any help would be greatly appreciated as I'm needing to get this running so I will have a truck in college when I go back mid August. Thanks!!
Old 07-24-2015, 11:15 PM
On The Tree

What is your fuel setup? Have you verified that the fuel pump is priming? If you spray starting fluid in the intake and it starts that can indicate a fueling problem. You can take a spark plug out of the engine snap it back into the spark plug wire and hold the electrode to the frame/a ground and see if you're getting spark when someone cranks it(wear rubber gloves).

Last edited by Mike_hawk; 07-24-2015 at 11:23 PM.
Old 07-25-2015, 09:04 AM
Teching In

Originally Posted by Mike_hawk