Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

6.0l blown ski boat

Search this Thread

Old 10-07-2015, 10:39 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default 6.0l blown ski boat

I have an 07 Mastercraft X-45 Saltwater Series boat that is gong under the knife this winter. The current engine is a SBC (L31) that was somewhat underpowered (330hp) to begin with and after 500+ hours of pushing 8000+ lbs (4600 dry weight, 2250 ballast, 540 fuel, 400+ passengers, and 200+ gear - cooler, amps, speakers, wakeboards, anchors, cooler) through the water has taken its toll. The boat was also offered with an 8.1l engine (not sure on designation) and in later models with an LY6 as well. So I have sourced an LY6 from a junk yard (pic below) to get this thing at least into the 21st century (the L31 really didn't much use beyond 2000 in GM products). But what I knew from the hp and torque curves made me think this really wasn't likely to satisfy me either. So... I decided to pick up one of the Cadillac CTS-V take-off blowers and source the ZL1 lid and extras. I expect to remove the VVT setup and do a cam swap to include lifters, springs, and at minimum inconel exhaust valves.

Before anyone starts preaching about the internal differences between marine and automotive engines don't waste your breathe. As the Saltwater Series uses closed loop cooling (a heat exchanger acts as the radiator), the internal differences are negligible. I will be using the screened accessories to limit the chance of fire.

Anyway this is the engine as received.

As delivered.

This was the engine after about 2.5 hours. It is SOOOOOOOOOOOO much easier to work on this thing outside of the boat/car.

2.5 hours later...

Once I get a few more things off of the engine and get it onto the engine stand I will go ahead and begin assembling the supercharger as I wait for parts for the engine. Updates coming.
Old 10-07-2015, 11:43 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 66 Likes on 52 Posts