Conversions & Swaps LSX Engines in Non-LSX Vehicles
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1961 Impala 2 door hard top mild custom

Search this Thread

Old 02-20-2017, 07:43 AM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Another car I can't wait to look over up close. Nice work, man!
Old 02-22-2017, 04:39 AM
TECH Addict

Received 26 Likes on 24 Posts

Thanks a lot!

I'll be back on the road this summer doing biweekly upgrades while cruising - just like last year. I'm sure we'll run into each other.
Old 02-22-2017, 04:41 AM
TECH Addict

My job has been crazy so I’ve been forced to slow my pace on the car. As such I’m still knee deep in a project I had hoped to have completed. Of course my day job is how I afford to feed my car habit so I really shouldn’t complain too much...

Anyway.

My goal is to cut out any major rust and replace the metal for the floors. The worst bit of rust for this segment is pictured in the following sequence of images. Hopefully you can understand the extent of the damage and my steps to repair it.

Here is the passenger side rear wheel well. Clearly visible are some of the rust holes helping aid the optional trunk ventilation system I’m working to eliminate.

Cut out the rusted section.

Quick paper template, notice my patch metal is too short. This was the longest piece of 20 gauge I had on hand so I extended the patch metal with another bit of scrap using the TIG without filler wire. I then hit the extension area panel with my DA and the weld almost disappears. From the outside this area will be undercoated in some way and the inside will be finished and painted at a future point.

There is a jog in the original panel, presumably for strength, that I will need to duplicate. I got creative with my sheet metal brake since I don’t have a bead roller – yet.

Now I created the curve in the panel that mimics the original. I held it in place with some sheet metal screws to check fitment and mark the panel for trimming.

Thanks a lot for following along.