Sponsored by:

5.7L & T56 going into Datsun Roadster

Search this Thread

Old 11-09-2017, 10:52 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 5.7L & T56 going into Datsun Roadster

PLEASE BARE WITH ME.
I am unable to respond to replies because I am a new member with less than 50 posts.

I am sure there are 100+ threads about this but I am new to the LSx scene.

I have been cleaning up a 1969 Datsun 1600 Roadster in preparation of doing a motor swap. The original idea was to do a Hayabusa swap but was swayed into doing an LSx swap. A few days ago I found a wrecked 2002 Camaro SS with 89,xxx miles on its LS1 & T56 that I ended up purchasing. One owner, well maintained, original purchase slips, and clean title. The LS1 runs smooth as butter.

I thought I would sign up to this forum to get some information on the swap. Any tips or advice would be much appreciated.

Also, I will have some parts from the F-body soon.

- Kolt

Originally Posted by pdxmotorhead
One of my fav cars, always wanted one with a SR20DET red top in it... Keep us updated curious to see how it fits..
I was originally looking for a Fiat 124 or 2000 when I came across the Roadsters. The SR20 is actually a common swap in these cars. I will definitely try to keep posted when I can but, as I mentioned before, this is going to be a very slow build.

One guy did a LS1 a few years ago so he does have some valuable info as well:

Originally Posted by Michael Yount
Cobla.....
What is "Cobla"?

Originally Posted by B Gordon
Interesting swap choice.
Looks like you have your work cut out for yourself.
Does the SS currently have a T56 in it or is the Camaro currently an automatic?
What rear end will you be going with?

Not sure how much direct help it would be but you might look into the LS1 swaps that get put into Miata's as there could possibly be some similar things that would work on your swap.