Corvette Performance
C5 | Z06 | C6 | ZR1 | C7

04 Z06 w/ Blown Motor - What Replacement?

Search this Thread

Old 06-18-2017, 08:25 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 04 Z06 w/ Blown Motor - What Replacement?

Been wanting to get a roller late model Corvette for a while to do a nice build with. I'm a novice when it comes to the details with this stuff, so bear with me here.

Local craigslist guy has a 2004 Z06, Clean Title, with 60,000 miles on all original car except for intake/tune/cam/mufflers. He sent the rods through the oil pan, needless to say it needs a new engine/serious rebuild. He wants $10,000 for it but I plan on offering $7500 and seeing where it goes.

I want a car that I can beat on at the strip, track, and road. Of course the car will be getting new suspension and brakes and whatever else it needs to accomplish the above. I don't really have a HP goal, and that's something I'd like your guys help on. I know the track doesn't require much HP, 400-500 is plenty, but I want a faster car than 400-500 HP for the street/strip. Is ~700 wheel HP too much for a track? Or is too much not the right word and "Unusable" a better one?

Originally, after watching builds by shops like Vengeance Racing, I was set on an LSX, specifically a 427 or 376, with a supercharger/procharger on it. But now I'm reconsidering, knowing the weight of an iron block, in the worst possible place (Nose of the car), is awful for track use, and awful period really. What type of engine would you guys think would be a good "cornerstone" to build on? I'm also not sure on a blower to go on the said engine, not much experience at all with self contained units, but I know a few of the bigger names out there. I'd like a power level that's useable at the track, but also able to run low 10s or even high 9s (Probably need 800+ wheel to do 9s). A majority of the time will be spent on the road though.