Drag Racing Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

True Pinion Angles

Old 10-31-2010, 12:38 PM
10 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default True Pinion Angles

This came to me last night, I was upgrading all my bolts for my suspension to grade 8s and was checking my pinion angle. BMR and UMI say to take the TQ angle and minus the driveshaft angle. Wouldnt true pinion angle be right at the yoke? Iv always taken mine right off of the U-joint or yoke? Is that wrong or should I do this simple math?? To me seems like waist of a few seconds of my busy life..lol Im no expert just wondering....
Old 10-31-2010, 07:13 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Ive been told to always check it at pinion/yoke
Old 10-31-2010, 07:19 PM
10 Second Club

When people here use the term pinion angle they are referring to the angle of the pinion in relation to the driveshaft, not the actual angle of the pinion itself.
Old 10-31-2010, 08:04 PM
10 Second Club

I take mine off the tailshaft with a smart level. I then zero the level and then put on the bottom of rear housing.
Old 10-31-2010, 08:34 PM
9 Second Club

Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts

I use the angle of the engine / transmission centerline and take the difference from the rear end / pinion. My transmission angles -3 degrees there for I set my pinion angle to a +1 degree angle. This gives me a difference of -2 degree pinion angle, all the other driveline / torque arm angle stuff is bs. You are setting the pinion angle and not the driveline angle.

This explains it in more detail, ehh well I guess this uses driveline angle

http://www.ssz28.com/tech/Pinionangle.html

Last edited by Nitroused383; 10-31-2010 at 08:40 PM.
Old 10-31-2010, 08:39 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

car on the tires level pull the driveshaft, set the TA so the pinion to the angle you want.
Old 11-01-2010, 10:57 AM
LS1Tech Premium Sponsor

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts