Eastern Members CT, DE, NH, NJ, NY, MA, ME, MD, PA, RI, VT, VA, WV

New to LS1! Whats up!

Old 10-19-2011, 03:27 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to LS1! Whats up!

Whats up guys, I just recently purchased a 2002 Camaro SS, onyx black. Its completely bone stock and the owner before me changed the oil every 5k miles using Fully synthetic oil and always used 91-93 octane fuel.

I am new to the LS1 motor and here is what I know so far when I purchased the car-
Transmission was rebuilt at 100k miles
Has a New waterpump
New Right Rear Axel at 100k miles
New Battery
Front brakes are less then a year old.

Now that ive driven it a couple hundred miles and have spent some time with it here is what I notice.
-Passenger window motor is about dead (bought those to replace)
-Needs new speakers (Got some Kenwoods going in)
-does have a slight pulley squeak or chirp (thinking its the drive pulley or tensioner)
-Slight tap in the motor, sounds like a gurgle grumble ish from the top by the heads and a tap under the car (pushrod?)
-front suspension creeks when I go over speed bumps or get in and out of the car (gonna try re-greasing or replacing struts?)
-rear end has a slight whirl I guess, lady says its done that for quite some time. So i'm not sure if its something to be to concerned with. May be wheel bearing or axle bearing i'm guessing. May try doing the Diff oil

Other then that it starts great and runs strong no hesitation.

Looking forward to meeting some other people with the LS1 as well!
Old 10-19-2011, 03:49 PM
TECH Regular

slight tap is probally just normal valve train noise, these motors are noisey stock
Old 10-19-2011, 05:42 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 1 Like on 1 Post