Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

Grand national turbo on an lt1 ? Thoughts..

Search this Thread

Old 09-26-2014, 05:10 PM
9 Second Club

Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts

Default Grand national turbo on an lt1 ? Thoughts..

Hey guys, i'm new to turbos and on a budget anyways, been reading alot and searching tryng too see if this will work. A buddy has a gn turbo and i was gonna use ls truck manifolds and fab my own hotside without an intercooler for now just something simple to get my feet wet. From what i understand the only other things needed are a bigger or booster fuel pump ( can get a t-rex cheap) bigger injectors (unsure what size?) and a good tune. Im trying to utilize deals and junkyard parts to keep costs down. I aso thought about a chinese ebay turbo like a gt45 but i figured the stock gn turbo woud be better.

The car is a 93 z28 lt1 a4, roller rockers, small cam (supposedly), pacesetter long tubes, ory, !cats, single glasspack dumped, msd coil/wires,cai, sfc, 10 bolt 4:11, coming next week- edge 3600 stall

any ideas would be appreciated, im not lookin to do wheelies or anything, just tinker with turbos a bit. I know alot will probably suggest heads/cam, but i really want a turbo. Thx guys
Old 09-26-2014, 06:40 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 46 Likes on 31 Posts

You won't be able to use ls based truck manifolds on any non-ls based engine. Your exhaust still has the standard small block spacing instead of the even spacing of the newer ls engines.

As far as a GN turbo, one by itself will be too small but I know back in the day lt1 guys used them in a twin setup for a budget minded build. Never really made huge numbers but it doesn't sound like you are going for that anyway. You will also need to figure out tuning. I know back when I was planning to turbo my old lt1 car, no one had figured out a way for the stock ecu to read positive manifold pressure (ie boost). I am not sure if that has changed or not though.