Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

New to builds, opinions on 5.3 Turbo Build?

Search this Thread

Old 01-19-2022, 03:57 PM
Teching In

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default New to builds, opinions on 5.3 Turbo Build?

Hey All,

I am completely new to the whole engine building scene and am looking to start my first major build on my 79 Malibu. The car was my dads and threw a rod about 20 years ago and has sat ever since, so I'm looking to breathe a little bit of life back into it. Been researching this topic and reading these forums for a while and I think I'm ready to start moving on it. I am looking to out a L33 5.3 into it paired up with a 4L80e and Ford 8.8 rear diff into it. I'd want the car to be street-able, but does not have to be a daily driver at all. Just to take it out for a cruise and have a little bit of fun on the street. Ideally looking to hit maybe 550/600 on pump gas, not looking to mess with e85 or meth as of right now. I think that would be more than enough for a 3,000 LB car and plenty of power to keep me entertained for a while.

So far the parts list I have is as follows:
L33 5.3 (stock pistons and rods, change ring gap)
VS Racing Cast 7875
Summit 8706R1 Cam
PAC 1218 Valve Springs
Hardened 7.4 inch Pushrods
Melling 10295 Oil Pump
Snake Eater 96lb/hr Injectors
ARP Head Studs
Holley Billet Fuel Rails

Just wanted to get others opinions on my list as I am relatively new to the engine building world and am unsure if this is way overkill for what I'm looking to achieve. Feel free to school me as I'd love to learn more.
The following users liked this post:
2006 z51 vette (03-01-2022)
Old 01-19-2022, 04:21 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 76 Likes on 66 Posts

You only need 60lb injectors, turbo is fine. In currently running a 5.3 with a billet 78/75 and trying to get quicker spool for the street.
Old 01-19-2022, 05:19 PM
LS1Tech Co-Founder

Received 1,099 Likes on 721 Posts

Sounds like a good list.

With a Holley ECU to run it?