LS1TECH - Camaro and Firebird Forum Discussion

LS1TECH - Camaro and Firebird Forum Discussion (https://ls1tech.com/forums/)
-   Forced Induction (https://ls1tech.com/forums/forced-induction-9/)
-   -   Your opinion please: D1X or 2.9 Whipple (https://ls1tech.com/forums/forced-induction/1889413-your-opinion-please-d1x-2-9-whipple.html)

romanss 01-12-2018 06:22 AM

Your opinion please: D1X or 2.9 Whipple

Hi All

So I'm new to the Supercharger realm.

I have a stock LQ4 and going with LS3 top end with a T56 into a 1973 Camaro. I am doing the swap this winter.

So far I have a pair of Gen X TFS heads.

I was waiting to get cam and intake after I figure out which direction I'm going in.

I want a SC that will be able reach 1000 fwhp eventually. I know it won't now and I am not expecting to push the stock short block.

What are the pros and cons of the 2 SC choices D1X or 2.9 Whipple ?

What I like about the Whipple is that it's complete minus T.B and heat exchanger.

What I like about the Procharger is that I can build the rest of the build, get it running and then incorporate the SC afterwards.

Your thoughts, please.

Thanks,

Roman

https://cimg6.ibsrv.net/gimg/ls1tech...9bd087fc39.jpg

rkupon1 01-12-2018 07:02 AM

Will a 2.9whipple make 1k hp? I had a 3.4l whipple on my lightning. Those things make phenominal tq n very reliable, but they are heatpumps. You ll spend thousands keepn iat s under check. Fwiw, mine made 705rwhp on pumpgas at 18-20psi. Took alot of supporting mods to get it there. But yea, it was a blast to drive! Heres a clip, been a long time since.

stevieturbo 01-12-2018 02:56 PM

Numbers mean little.

What is the car used for, what trans, what is your driving style...etc etc ?

The two blowers you mention will have massively different characteristics.

And then will a whipple fit under your hood without mods ? Or does that matter ?

What room have you for a Procharger, what fitting kit/belt drive etc ? All important things for reliability.