LS1TECH - Camaro and Firebird Forum Discussion

LS1TECH - Camaro and Firebird Forum Discussion (https://ls1tech.com/forums/)
-   Forced Induction (https://ls1tech.com/forums/forced-induction-9/)
-   -   ECT...aluminum vs iron block (https://ls1tech.com/forums/forced-induction/1910346-ect-aluminum-vs-iron-block.html)

BCNUL8R 11-16-2018 09:33 AM

ECT...aluminum vs iron block

For a street car in the 750-850 rwhp range is there any significant difference in keeping the engine cool between an aluminum block and an iron block?

Project GatTagO 11-16-2018 09:38 AM

I have no direct experience, but my gut tells me, no...provided you have a good cooling system.

Andrew

Game ova 11-16-2018 10:24 AM

I have no experience with an iron LS boosted motor. But I can tell you this, my car has an aluminum LS2 and makes 740whp and it's on E85. During the winter, i actually have trouble keeping heat IN the motor.... runs too cool. During the summer months with the AC on, it runs about 200 on the freeway and creeps up to around 220 around town.

BCNUL8R 11-16-2018 10:30 AM

The reason I ask is in the GTO specifically I’ve read of several iron 408’s with prochargers having over heating issues. They are the only ones I’ve noticed having this issue.

On my LS1 on only 10 psi I have a 160 stat on e85 with first fan on at 179 and 2nd fan on at 185. I couldn’t tell you if the second fan even works because it never gets to 185 even on 90 degree days.

Im planning a forged 6.0 and it made me curious if I should add cooling along with weight as things to consider between aluminum and iron.

eta...I had a 408 in a different car that had no cooling issues, but it was a different ball game...about 500 whp NA and 650 on spray.

Game ova 11-16-2018 10:34 AM

Originally Posted by BCNUL8R (Post 20002637)
The reason I ask is in the GTO specifically I’ve read of several iron 408’s with prochargers having over heating issues. They are the only ones I’ve noticed having this issue.