Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

FI Motor, Need Advice

Search this Thread

Old 05-17-2007, 03:18 PM
TECH Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default FI Motor, Need Advice

Okay some of you know I blew my motor about a month ago and I'm tired of seeing her dead in the driveway. Motor is half pulled (left it in because I like being able to roll it around and go vroom vroom ). I decided to just get a 6.0 LS2 block and upgrade from there. It came with a modified crank for use with the ls1 sensor. I'm new to both the 6.0 and to an LS2.

Plans for the motor
: Forged bottom end, stock crank, lower compression for FI; I'm still debating on the method of FI.. love turbo but dont want to lose AC or have pipes under the K-Member so I might go S/C, then I can keep my long tubes and exhaust note aswell. I have ported heads that I'll be taking off and getting flow tested. I'm getting a fast 90 mm intake manifold aswell.

Goals: I'd like to be in the 700-800hp range once it's all said and done and have the car be reliable as a DD.

Money: is an object to a point. I'd rather not spend $1000 on something that I can get for $800 that is just as good if not better(for example, Wiseco pistons instead of Diamond). When its for those 'added insurance' deals, I'd rather be safe then sorry.

So: What would ya'll suggest I fill the short block with in regards to pretty much everything, from brand to size. I know a good automotive machine shop aswell if that makes things easier. Also, would it be a good idea to go ahead and get a new (bmr or similar) K-member? If so, which mounts? I planned on replacing my existing mounts with poly ones when doing the swap. I'm also not sure which parts will transfer (oilpump, pushrods, lifters, heads, headers, ect) from my existing motor, please enlighten me. I also need to upgrade my fuel system.