4.8 Idles but dies if you give it any gas - LS1TECH - Camaro and Firebird Forum Discussion

Notices
Fueling & Injection Fuel Pumps | Injectors | Rails | Regulators | Tanks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

4.8 Idles but dies if you give it any gas

Old 12-30-2018, 01:11 AM
Teching In

Default 4.8 Idles but dies if you give it any gas

To start off hereís an outline of my setup:
stock bottom 4.8
228/230 cam
howards valve springs
gt45 turbo
decapped truck injectors
stock rails/fpr
walbro 450
5 speed
3 bar SD no o2ís

i just got the swap started for the first time a few days ago, tuning myself with hp tuners and the help of a buddy who has a lot of experience.
so far, the truck will start most of the time and Iíve got it idling decent around 900-1000rpms. Sometimes it doesnít want to start and will just fire and die, and when it does start and idle good, it will sputter if I give it gas and die around 1600-1700rpms will not rev past this. Im not an expert, but I tried increasing the ve table to give it more fuel as well as decreasing it to take some away, and it didnít seem to get any better in either direction. I also tried loading one of denmahís 4.8 tunes with almost the same exact setup as me and it still dies as soon as I give it any throttle which leads me to believe that the problem doesnít lie in the tune. Iím wondering what could be causing this and where I should look first? Does this sound like a fuel problem or possibly an ignition problem? The other thing is that my wideband is not getting a reading from my motor. With key on engine off it reads 18.7 full lean, when I spray some ether up the downpipe it reads 10 and slowly rises back to 18.7 as it dries up so I know itís working, but when my motor starts it shows loading and wonít give a reading so I have no idea where Iím at, is it possible the motor is running lower than 9 or higher than 19 and not registering on the guage? Commanded afr is right around 14.6 at idle and decreases as you give it gas. Thanks fo