Gears & Axles Driveshafts | Rearends | Differentials | Gears | 12 Bolt | 9 Inch | Dana

Wheel bearing

Search this Thread

Old 06-27-2010, 07:51 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Wheel bearing

My passenger rear wheel bearing has been roaring for about a week now, where have you guys purchased the bearing and whats the easiest way to replace it? Is this something I can do after work or should I wait for a day off?
Old 06-28-2010, 05:06 PM
TECH Regular

Are you sure that it is the axle bearing and not the pinion or carrier bearing? What does it sound like? Does it pulsate constantly when on the throttle? My Formula with a stock rear was making a noise like that and most of the bearings were gone.

Also, your axles may be pitted from a bad axle bearing so you might also be looking at some new axles.

I've never done it before, but I think you should allow at least a full day to replace the bearing.
Old 06-28-2010, 05:25 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I bought the wheel bearing assembly at advanced auto for around 85 bucks. I ended up taking it back it turned out I didn't need it so can't say how long it would take to install
Old 06-28-2010, 05:48 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts

Axle bearings are cheap. Just get it from Autozone. They should be made by Torrington or Timken. You will also need the axle seal.

Replacement is easy. However, if your axle bearing is indeed roaring, then chances are you're going to need a replacement axle as well. Any pitting or grooving on the axle means it's bad and must be replaced.

You will also need an axle bearing removal tool and a slide hammer, a seal removal tool, and a bearing install tool. You should be able to rent them all at Autozone, or buy them from Harbor Freight. It took me and my brother a couple hours for both sides, and I had never done an axle bearing before.
Old 06-29-2010, 01:08 PM
9 Second Club