Gears & Axles Driveshafts | Rearends | Differentials | Gears | 12 Bolt | 9 Inch | Dana

7.5" rebuild/gear change help

Search this Thread

Old 04-30-2012, 12:48 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 7.5" rebuild/gear change help

I am very new to the rear end gearing and building. I am looking to put a set of 3.90s or 4.10s in my 7.5". I know its better to go with a better rear end, i just dont have the money and i need the car on the road. When i started looking for gears i saw that some gearsets cant be used with the stock posi rear end. Can i not just go and buy the ring and pinion gear and the matching instal/rebuild kit and slap it in? Some say i need a block plate of some kind and im not sure what to look for. Any hints and info would be great. Again i am very new to this gear swap stuff.

I have a 99 trans am M6, and dont plan on to much track time.
Old 04-30-2012, 03:22 PM
TECH Veteran

Received 129 Likes on 114 Posts

99s' would have come with a 'Torsen' posi. A torsen posi requires a modified 'paddle/block' to be re-inserted after the installation of 4.10s. Users modify/grind the original or purchase a SLP 'split paddle'
Don't know what the situation would be with 3.90s as they're not commonly used.

https://ls1tech.com/forums/gears-axl...ddle-pics.html
Old 04-30-2012, 03:31 PM
Teching In

Just call the dealer and they said my car had a g80 diff. They said it wasnt the torsen diff. How can i know for sure?
Old 04-30-2012, 05:35 PM
TECH Veteran

G80 is the code for positraction/limied slip,an Auburn is a G80,a Torsen is a G80.
98 and earlier got Auburn,99 and later got Torsen.
pull the cover and look

torsen

auburn
Old 04-30-2012, 07:33 PM
TECH Resident

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

http://www.pcmforless.com/index.php?...ches&Itemid=56

read that, I just did it, you need some things in addition: