LS1TECH - Camaro and Firebird Forum Discussion

LS1TECH - Camaro and Firebird Forum Discussion (https://ls1tech.com/forums/)
-   Gears & Axles (https://ls1tech.com/forums/gears-axles-15/)
-   -   Suggestions Needed - 10-Bolt Build (https://ls1tech.com/forums/gears-axles/1886890-suggestions-needed-10-bolt-build.html)

Majozak 12-05-2017 10:36 PM

Suggestions Needed - 10-Bolt Build

Hey Everyone,

I spent some time looking through some of the threads and didn't find exactly what I needed. I'd appreciate some input for some of you who have done this a time or two.

I have some howling coming from the back of the car and and clunk when I put it in gear from time to time, so I'm going to replace the diff. I got a master mechanic who's gracious enough to help me put it in, but I wanted to pick the community's brain before we dive in so I've at least done my part.

I use my '01 WS6 M6 as a DD and it only has catback at this point. I have a new intake and throttle body, and will put some headers on, but I don't have plans to go much further than that. I took it to the strip once and plan to do a little auto-cross at some point too, but don't plan to do much more than that.

I've spent some time researching over the last couple weeks and wanted to air my thoughts out and see what feedback I could receive.

Because I want to DD and do just a small bit of screwing around on the track or otherwise, I think a 10-bolt will be fine, especially for my budget. I've seen post after post about Ford 9", 12-bolts, and so forth, but I don't need to spend $1,500 or $2,500.

From what I can tell, if I want a quiet ride, Motives and AAM are my best bet. Richmond is tough, but loud, and a lot of the cheaper options from like Summit Racing, Strange, US Gear, or otherwise have a better chance of being louder.