Gears & Axles Driveshafts | Rearends | Differentials | Gears | 12 Bolt | 9 Inch | Dana

Gear/rearend specs

Search this Thread

Old 07-16-2007, 06:39 PM
12 Second Club

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts

Default Gear/rearend specs

I'm looking to put a new auburn diff and richmond gears in the rear of my car and possibly new axles. I'm looking for the specs so i know witch diff to order and i want 4:10's are there any differences or are all the 4:10's the same? i'm new with rear ends i'm used to Wrong wheel drive cars. and what are good axles to go with. I'm not plannin on running anything real sticky for a while and the most i see doing is a 3,000 rpm launch at the most. i couldn't find anything in the sticky's. also anyone have any experiences with auburn diff's and richmond gears?
Old 07-16-2007, 06:52 PM
TECH Addict

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

For what you want to do honestly I would skip the differential and axles. A good diff + axles is going to run around $800 (plus labor if you aren't DIY)...and the bottom line is that $800 could be going towards making your future brighter with a 9 inch. I would just do the gears for now, they're fun...richmonds work well, get a master install kit to go along with it and call it a day..
Old 07-16-2007, 06:56 PM
12 Second Club

the gears are just the weakest link any ways right? i mean my diff now works fine i figured i would just upgrade it while it was apart but if i can get away with a set of gears and bearings that would be way cheaper.
Old 07-16-2007, 08:44 PM
TECH Addict

Originally Posted by LILWS6
the gears are just the weakest link any ways right? i mean my diff now works fine i figured i would just upgrade it while it was apart but if i can get away with a set of gears and bearings that would be way cheaper.
The entire thing is a crapshoot. You could replace gears, diff, and axles, and then have the housing twist a month later. It's just not worth putting any extra money into except for small repairs or gear upgrades.