General LSX Automobile Discussion Non-technical LSX related topics.

What's so great about LSX engines?

Search this Thread

Old 06-19-2009, 03:04 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default What's so great about LSX engines?

I hope this is in the right section, seems appropriate. Just thought I'd throw this question out there since I am sort of wondering myself about this. I mean I don't know how many times I've heard of LS1s being "touched by the hand of God" etc etc. Buy why? What makes these engines so great in reality? I know they make good torque and hp and that they are all aluminum and have a wealth of aftermarket support but is that it? I here a lot of great things about them and I love mine, but I'm not a mechanic. From a different point of view (like from a tech standpoint or racers standpoint) what makes these engines any better than an LT1 (if it is in fact 'better') or sbc? They have no forged internals, so they can't take what the 03/04 Cobra powerplants can take or anything like that. Can they be built cheaply or something? Is that the appeal? Just really would like to hear from everyone on this.
Old 06-19-2009, 03:35 PM
TECH Fanatic

they can be built cheap, they are more reliable than older sbc/lt1 (completely redesigned), and most importantly the heads flow really well for stock heads compared to other small blocks.
Old 06-19-2009, 03:39 PM
Staging Lane

head flow is the key to power, but also dont dismiss and engine without forged internalls as not being able to take power, the cranks in these motors are very strong for a cast unit. rods are better then any previous chevy cast rods also....
Old 06-19-2009, 03:49 PM
TECH Veteran

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts