Notices
General LSX Automobile Discussion Non-technical LSX related topics.

What octane to run

Old 01-12-2019, 08:54 AM
Staging Lane

Default What octane to run

Newly swapped newly rebuilt 6.0 LQ4, 799 heads, WS6 Store high lift ASA. Its in a 3400lb Nova. I am new to the LS deal and always ran 93 in my SBC due to the compression ratio. Do I need to continue with 93? Headed to the tuner in a week or so and want to be right when I get there.
Old 01-12-2019, 10:47 AM
TECH Addict

If it's a stock rebuild with the LQ4 pistons then run the same fuel as a stock LQ4, The 799 heads aren't an upgrade other than a slight bump in compression but not enough to really change anything. I wouldn't run the lowest you can find at the pump but depending on what's available in your area you could run 89-91.
Old 01-12-2019, 11:02 AM
TECH Resident

You should be fine with mid-grade. It'll depend in part on the final tune though so see what the tuner recommends based on what he sees from the knock sensors.
Old 01-12-2019, 11:44 AM
Staging Lane

Thanks guys. I have a half tank of 93 and I'll see what the tuner tells me.
Old 01-12-2019, 06:52 PM
TECH Resident

Worst case you run premium which you already were anyway. My car calls for 91 but mid-grade around me is 89 so I just run the 93 and don't have to worry about it.
Old 01-13-2019, 08:57 AM
TECH Senior Member

Lord internet, don't do this today.............