General Maintenance & Repairs Leaks | Squeaks | Clunks | Rattles | Grinds

Pulley removal?

Search this Thread

Old 09-12-2009, 01:46 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Pulley removal?

So my idler pulley has been EXTREMELY squeaky as of late when I accelerate. And I've found a few threads on here about repacking the bearings with grease. However I'm a noob mechanic. What tools do I need and how exactly do I remove the pulley?

Any videos would help. :s

Thank you.
Old 09-12-2009, 02:40 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

It is a Torx bit, can't remember what size. Mine was in so tight, I had to heat the boss that it's screwed into in order to crack it loose.

Once it's out, just pry the dust seal off the bearing and repack with fresh grease.
Old 09-12-2009, 08:52 PM
Launching!

Depends on which idler you're talking about. The main v belt pulley's and lower ac belt pulley you'll need 15MM socket on 3/8 drive. The upper ac pulley is torx. T45 or T50, can't remember which one. If anything is squeaky pull all and repack ALL of them. I've had some success and some failure with this. Worse case scenario is you eventually have to buy some new pulley's. I just picked up the 2 ac pulley's for $16 each at AA on an AZ price match. They are aluminum so this is a nice little upgrade from the plastic which was wearing anyhow. If you haven't replaced the belts in some time this would be a good time too.

Both the V belt and ac belt will come off when you use the 15 mm socket. For v belt apply tightening tension to the pulley tensioner and take the belt off. For the ac belt use the 15 mm socket on the lower pulley/tensioner in the same manner and that belt will come right off.
Old 09-13-2009, 09:57 AM

Originally Posted by Schnell