General Maintenance & Repairs Leaks | Squeaks | Clunks | Rattles | Grinds

Help!!! Washed my LS1!!

Search this Thread

Old 10-12-2010, 04:59 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Help!!! Washed my LS1!!

Hi guys not new to the forum but new to actually posting, not sure if this is the right place but here goes.. This morning I decided to clean my engine, I sprayed some degreaser (Not on any electrical connections)...Then I sprayed it with water very carefully not to get anything electrical wet....Well I obviously wasn't careful enough and now when I turn the car on all the lights on the dash go on and and the alternator guage needle is all the way to maximum position! What could this be?? Help please, Thanks..
BTW its a 2000 Camaro z28 Ls1..
Old 10-12-2010, 05:04 PM
Banned

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts

Its completely normal actually. You got certain things wet that just need to dry out, it won't hurt anything. I've been cleaning my engine for 12+ years and every single time I do it I get over-charging and lights on the dash. Its going to take a day or two, maybe 3 to dry out.

When it happens to me I simply drive with my headlights on and maybe another electrical item....that will keep the volt needle out of the red zone.

No worries....just drive it.

Old 10-12-2010, 05:21 PM
Teching In

Originally Posted by LS6427
Its completely normal actually. You got certain things wet that just need to dry out, it won't hurt anything. I've been cleaning my engine for 12+ years and every single time I do it I get over-charging and lights on the dash. Its going to take a day or two, maybe 3 to dry out.

When it happens to me I simply drive with my headlights on and maybe another electrical item....that will keep the volt needle out of the red zone.

No worries....just drive it.

Oh wow that is very relieving..thanks so much.
Old 10-13-2010, 01:46 AM
TECH Senior Member

Received 79 Likes on 70 Posts

Stop washing your LS1 like its a pair of tennis shoes.