General Maintenance & Repairs Leaks | Squeaks | Clunks | Rattles | Grinds

Resealing a 4th gen rack and pinion...No magic required

Old 04-08-2017, 02:53 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Resealing a 4th gen rack and pinion...No magic required

So I blew out the input shaft seal on my 2000 Z28 quick ratio rack. Being a fairly competent mechanic I looked on this forum to see if anyone else had resealed there rack and if it was something I should attempt. Most of the post I found strongly recommended against trying. They stated that it took a myriad of special tools and skill to successfully reseal/rebuild one of these units. I was a little skeptical of the information as it appeared none of the people posting ever tried to repair one themselves, just reposting internet hearsay.

Given that a seal kit cost $22.00 and a reman rack goes for $200-$250 I decided to give it a try. If I couldn't do it then worse case I have to buy a reman and I am out $22.00.

Here we go. I got my seal kit from Orielly"s #8785. This is the proper kit for the quick ratio rack FE2 suspension. HINT: order 2 seal kits as the chance of nicking a seal is always there (I did) and there are no spares in the kit. If you don't use it you can always return for a refund.

First of all this does not require a high level of mechanical skill, just patience. If you have ever replace a wheel bearing race and hub seal you've got this covered. Second it does not require any special tools. Internal snap ring pliers, 8" crescent wrench, ball peen hammer, a couple punches, and a tub of wheel bearing grease pretty well covers it. Oh yeah almost forgot, a roll of 1/2" masking tape and some hose clamps.

Step 1. Center the steering and take a mental note or better yet a picture of where the pinch bolt on the steering shaft is. (NOTE, if rack is centered the head of the pinch bolt should be pointing up in the same direction as the pressure hose port). DO NOT remove the hard lines.