General Maintenance & Repairs Leaks | Squeaks | Clunks | Rattles | Grinds

Took headlights out to clean them, now I can't get them back in!

Search this Thread

Old 04-11-2008, 06:11 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Took headlights out to clean them, now I can't get them back in!

Help!

I'm feeling like a total noob on this one, but basically I took the headlights out of my 2001 Camaro to clean them, and now I can't get them back in!

I know it's simple but I can't get those things to line up and I already scuffed up my front fascia a little bit from pulling them around. How are you supposed to insert them, and how can I get them in? It seems like they are too big to get back in without accidentally breaking something.

HELP!
Old 04-11-2008, 06:14 PM
TECH Apprentice

That's strange, putting the headlights on should be a breeze. Your hood is open right?

Place the headlight in it's spot and just nudge it around a bit. Once everything lines up, screw the single bolt on.
Old 04-11-2008, 06:17 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Originally Posted by newton
That's strange, putting the headlights on should be a breeze. Your hood is open right?

Place the headlight in it's spot and just nudge it around a bit. Once everything lines up, screw the single bolt on.
I tried that, but I can only get one side in at a time. If I try to put the outside edge in first, I can't get the inside edge in, and if I try to put the inside edge in first, I can't get the outside edge in. This is driving me crazy.
Old 04-12-2008, 01:23 AM
TECH Apprentice

I had to work mine around to get it back in. I think i placed the outside edge in then worked the inside, I don't remember though.
Old 04-12-2008, 11:21 AM
TECH Fanatic