Generation III External Engine LS1 | LS6 | Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Heads and cam for my new motor

Search this Thread

Old 05-10-2013, 09:13 AM
TECH Resident

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Heads and cam for my new motor

Well I have a '00 z-28 with just shy of 300k miles on the factory untouched motor. Im going to be picking up a low mileage L33 (aluminum 5.3) short block this weekend. I plan to go ahead and install a decent cam before the motor goes in the car as well. Being only a short block Im going to need heads as well, and i dont want to spend a ton of money on them. The car is a 6 speed with 3.42 gears. Its my daily driver so i dont want to get too crazy with anything because as much as i love to have fun with this car i love my gas mileage more Im more of an LS truck/suv guy, when it comes to the car stuff and cams and what works well im still learning. The car wont be getting any type of forced induction, at least not any time soon or with this motor so id really like to keep the CR above 10:1 with a good sized cam and a set of decent flowing heads that wont kill the CR. They dont have to be anything aftermarket or expensive because this is purely a budget build and im just replacing the motor for peace of mind. The ls1 even with all the miles still runs like a champ surprisingly enough. It leaks a little oil here and there but runs great, no knocks or ticks anywhere. Any advice and guidance is very much appreciated!

Thanks

Zach
Old 05-10-2013, 02:49 PM
TECH Resident

Here are Static & Dynamic Compression ratio calculators...
http://www.csgnetwork.com/compcalc.html
http://www.wallaceracing.com/dynamic-cr.php
However, I am of the opinion that cranking pressure is the best indicator on what kind of compression you can run with which octane. Here are a couple of good articles...
http://www.chevyhiperformance.com/te...e_compression/
http://www.popularhotrodding.com/eng...ression_ratio/