Generation III External Engine LS1 | LS6 | Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

in the middle of heads and cam swap have some questions

Old 05-13-2013, 07:07 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default in the middle of heads and cam swap have some questions

hey guys so im in the middle of a cam and heads build on my 2000 z and this is my first build ever, its going well so far but some things are stumping me and need some input ill lay the questions out to make it easy.

1. i am putting new ls7 lifters and trays, obv i have to let them soak in oil for a bit but as far as install do i just put them in the trays and put the whole assembly in the holes? or do i just drop them in one by one then install the trays?

2.i have ordered as many new bolts as i could just to be safe, i have been following ls1howto's write up and it seems they reuse alot of bolts. my main concern is if it would be safe to reuse the oil pan bolts since i have to drop it some for the oil pump but wasnt sure if i could just throw some blue threadlock on them and be ok? and also could i reuse the bolts on the timing cover?

3. as far as getting the timing right once i put the new cam in how do i go about that? do i just turn the motor over by hand till the crank dot is at 12 then put the gear on the cam and turn the motor until they line up?

4. last but not least once i have the car together i plan on doing a stall for it right away but im going to be doing it at my buddys shop, i am installing the tsp v3 cam is it safe to drive the car just to his shop once im done or am i better off trailering it there and doing the install?

thank you in advance to anyone who can put in their 2 cents i appreciate it.
Old 05-13-2013, 08:00 PM
TECH Enthusiast

can SOMEONE help me out? i find it hard to beleive over 100 ppl have viewed this and cant help me

Last edited by blackfbird98; 05-13-2013 at 09:23 PM.
Old 05-13-2013, 09:32 PM
Launching!