Generation III External Engine LS1 | LS6 | Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Need help diagnosing and troubleshooting a misfire in a 5.3

Search this Thread

Old 02-26-2015, 09:13 PM
TECH Resident

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Need help diagnosing and troubleshooting a misfire in a 5.3

Hello everyone,

I am having issues with my 2004 5.3 Silverado... It is not a flex fuel model. To start, it runs and drives fine mostly, there MAY be a slight miss at idle, but not really noticeable if at all. The MIL light is on, and occasionally flashes random numbers of times. I have read codes and came up with p0303 Cylinder 3 misfire.
The truck has, within the last year, had plugs/wires changed to AC Delco Rapidfires, and OmniSpark plug wires from O'Reilly's.
What I have tried thus far, and mind you I am no expert on the 5.3, is the following...First, I checked the coils by changing them around to see if the misfire moved with the coil to try to rule it out. It did not move with the coil to say the least.
Next, I changed AGAIN the plugs and wires. No difference.
Then I tried changing around injectors and at first I thought that it had fixed it, but then it came back.

I *think* I hear a vacuum leak...but I cannot locate one for sure. I attempted to 'smoke' the intake manifold to see if any smoke would leak out of a leaky area and it did not leak anywhere that I could notice; and the intake was slightly pressurized.

Although I doubt this would cause this issue, I looked at all of the oxygen sensors briefly, and they appeared to be original units. I am thinking an O2 sensor wouldn't cause this anyway, but considered it.

Does anybody have any suggestions or ideas? This is my daily so you know how that goes... Thanks a ton for any help in advance.
Old 02-26-2015, 09:33 PM
Staging Lane

Check injector pulse , listen to the injectors to see if number 3 is clicking , leak down test , clean maf
Old 02-26-2015, 09:46 PM