Generation III External Engine LS1 | LS6 | Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

LS3 VMS Ignition Coils

Search this Thread

Old 12-08-2015, 08:48 PM
Staging Lane

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default LS3 VMS Ignition Coils

I'd like to put a review of the LS3 style VMS ignition coils I bought since I couldn't find a single review online for any type of car before I bought them. The mods on my 99 Trans Am before the coils were Edlebrock headers, GMMG catback, ported MAF, K&N, so nothing crazy.

I installed a lot of products at once. I switched to the Holley LS valve covers so I wanted to go with red LS3 coils. MSD coils were a bit pricey so I opted for VMS which I never heard of. They were only $215 with free shipping on Ebay.

Now if I were smart, I would've installed the coils first and test drove the car. It would've been much easier to troubleshoot. I'm not a mechanic but I have 20 years of working on my cars in my garage from brake changes to engine rebuilds.

I installed a FAST 92mm Intake with Nick Williams Throttle body, LS6 Valley pan with the new built in PVC, Holley LS valve covers and the VMS LS3 coils which required new wiring harnesses to convert to the new style plug. I also replaced both knock sensors and the harness (wow was the stock harness boot worn out. They were like hard plastic).

I took my car out for a test drive and it drove like crap. Had no power, shaky acceleration and idle, and popped between shifts (mainly 1-2). I did the usual tests. I checked for vacuum leaks, etc. My Aeroforce Interceptor OBD2 gauge was showing zero misfires and zero knock retard. No check engine light either.