Generation III External Engine LS1 | LS6 | Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Complete noob needs help with pushrod length

Search this Thread

Old 03-18-2017, 02:05 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Complete noob needs help with pushrod length

Hey everyone, I f***ed up and ordered the wrong pushrods.

I bought a length tool off of ebay and when I tried to check length myself it came out to 7.175 so I ordered BTR 7.2 since thats the smallest size available.

Some of my rockers after being torqued are extremely loose when not compressing the spring, pretty sure this isn't right... take it easy on me this is my first build so...

Is my pushrod length wrong? If so could someone tell me my pushrod length based off my cam and everything?

If so, Specs:
Torquer V4 Camshaft
LS7 Lifters
PRC stage 2.5 243 Heads milled .020
BTR .660 springs
Comp cams rockers with trunion

I believe there is a mathematical way to calculate length without the tool so if someone can do that for me that'd be great.... i dont know the base circle of the cam etc so.... IDK I'm just frustrated I didn't get it right. I'm not good when it comes to these things. The tool I used is ZZperformance I believe.
Old 03-18-2017, 04:53 AM
Staging Lane

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Are you sure your lifters were resting on the cam and not held in their lifter tray? Take your pushrod and give it a slight push to pop them out of the buckets if they are.

Drop the checker in. Torque your rocker down to 22 ft lb and adjust the length of the push rod so there is no more vertical play in the rocker tip. It may take a few tries to get the length right. Just put a piece of tape on the checker so it doesn't grow or shrink while doing this. Measure a few and check them with a caliper. Once you have this measurement don't forget to add your preload.
Old 03-18-2017, 08:25 AM
10 Second Club

Received 152 Likes on 104 Posts