Sponsored by:

Another 5.3 Turbo Build w/ Questions - Going into an '87 Volvo 740

Search this Thread

Old 09-22-2014, 03:57 PM
Teching In

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Another 5.3 Turbo Build w/ Questions - Going into an '87 Volvo 740

Hey folks,

Newcomer here at LS1Tech. I'm in the process of piecing together a turbo 5.3 LS build for my '87 Volvo which has had a 350 SBC setup before, with a 700R4.

The motor went south and the car has been sitting since May or so. I picked up a drop-out 5.3 out of a 2004 Silverado with 128k miles on it. Since getting the motor, I've taken off the wiring harness, valve covers, and intake manifold. I am planning on stripping the engine down to the long-block so that I can paint it a metallic-gold flake color.

Anyway, over the last few weeks I've been doing a lot of research and still find that I'm still in the baby-stages of putting a parts list together for this build. I'm new to fuel injection, so I'm still figuring out injectors, fuel rails, fuel pump, regulator, etc.

I am going to be modifying the stock harness that I have now into a standalone 3-wire-to-run setup. The ECU will be mounted on the firewall, unless the wiring harness is long enough to go elsewhere.

I am planning to go turbo but I haven't even gotten into the stages of picking out turbo, what amount of boost to run, etc. So far, here's how far I've gotten as far as picking out parts:

- Summit Racing 12-gal plastic fuel cell. I'll be mounting this in the trunk and will be looking into ways to route the stock fuel neck from the side of the car into the tank.

- Walbro 255LPH inline fuel pump. This one seemed like a no-brainer to me, as it'll be able to provide the fuel pressures required to handle boost on pump gas.