Generation III Internal Engine 1997-2006 LS1 | LS6
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

ARP headbolts

Old 01-18-2012, 06:35 PM
12 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default ARP headbolts

Ok so i installed my heads last weekend and in doing so i used the GM torque procedure and found one of my washers was bad. Questions are; are the bolts ok since they are obviously tighter than the recommended torque on the sheet included in the kit, and if they are not and i replace them are the headgaskets still ok (motor is still on the stand).
Old 01-18-2012, 06:57 PM
KCS

Received 307 Likes on 207 Posts

You used the GM Torque Angle procedure on ARP head bolts?!
Old 01-18-2012, 08:16 PM
10 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

So it sounds like you know that you messed up I hope... you should have used the arp tq specs. As for the head gasket, i would just swap the bolts without moving the head and you should be ok, but I am no expert on the matter. Get some more opinions.
Old 01-18-2012, 09:44 PM
JPH
TECH Junkie

Originally Posted by 1mean96ss
Ok so i installed my heads last weekend and in doing so i used the GM torque procedure and found one of my washers was bad. Questions are; are the bolts ok since they are obviously tighter than the recommended torque on the sheet included in the kit, and if they are not and i replace them are the headgaskets still ok (motor is still on the stand).
You should have followed ARPs torque specs along with there lube and used GMs torque pattern. The chamfer side of the washer goes ^up. Yes, don't be afraid to reuse a head bolt and get a new washer if needed. Sounds like you need to crack them ALL loose and start over anyways.
Old 01-19-2012, 05:18 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

It sounds like your ARP bolts are now stretched in the same way an OEM bolt would be. Check your thread pitch when you pull them out. They are probably trash.
Old 01-19-2012, 08:00 AM
That's MISTER MODERATOR

Received 42 Likes on 36 Posts