Generation III Internal Engine 1997-2006 LS1 | LS6
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

ls newbie with some questions about a new build

Search this Thread

Old 10-29-2013, 09:27 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default ls newbie with some questions about a new build

as the title says, I am an LS newb, I have built a few mustangs, and have some old school gm cars. one of them has gave up the ghost on the motor. first off here is the car:
ls newbie with some questions about a new build-20130329_135006.jpg
the supercharger (yes I know this photo was taken before I installed it) ate the bearings up, (too much power for the stock 350). so I have a slight dilemma, I can rebuild the 350 with some improvements, or do an LS motor. I figure my budget is about 4-5k either way (the less the better). In taking stock of what I have available I have (1) 6.0L out of a 2004 HD2500 truck, and (2) 5.3L that I cant remember what they came out of. All of them were removed because of one failure or another. the 6L has a bad valve but the bottom end should be just fine. here is what i'm wondering, would the 5.3 be better to build, or the 6L? this is definitely not a daily driver, so budget horsepower is how I wanna go. what it makes is what it make, I already have nitrous run thru the car so i have an easy power adder. any thoughts? maybe work the 5.3 heads and put it on the 6.0? add a cam and intake? any input is helpful. i did a search for ls builds, and learned some. The issue is i'm such a newb that i don't even know what goes with what.
Old 10-30-2013, 01:11 AM
On The Tree

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

First off, welcome to the LS1Tech Forums. You definitely came to the right place to learn about these engines.
Second, "There's no replacement for displacement" and that quote still runs true, probably always will.
Third, go with the 6L (LQ9) and try and locate some 823 LS3 heads or L92 heads to go on it.