Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Rebuilding and building my Ls1 to 500hp to the wheels

Search this Thread

Old 02-02-2014, 01:58 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rebuilding and building my Ls1 to 500hp to the wheels

Hey guy I got few questions about rebuilding my Ls1 I got in my 98 6 speed Trans Am with 180k miles on it . I am fairly new to Ls engines so I thought to hear some advice before buying bunch of parts. I'm looking rebuild and build it up to be a drag/street car with around 500hp to the wheels. I don't have too much money to spend because I am going to rebuild my suspension and tranny but I'm looking to spend around 3 or so thousand in parts for the engine what would be my best bet for the buck and I'm again Nitros and stuff that damages the engine to an extreme because I want to keep the engine for a while so what u guys think? I appreciate all the input.
Old 02-02-2014, 02:18 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 15 Likes on 15 Posts

500 rwhp is no problem with some bolt ons, cam, and a 100-150 shot. Run all the proper acessories, have a good tune, etc...and it will last a good long time
Old 02-02-2014, 04:39 PM
TECH Regular

Without spraing or buying all used parts and getting luckier than the majority on this voard, you wont get 500rwhp. that number on a stock cubic inch ls1 has ony been achieved a handful of times and only with expensive top of the line components that would run you much closer to 6-8k. 400-440 wheel is achieved much cheaper and easier. What modifications do you have already? And have you purchased a good clutch yet? A clutch will be mandatory for over 400whp
Old 02-02-2014, 04:46 PM
TECH Resident

Received 33 Likes on 30 Posts

Start by tearing it down and checking the parts well. Plastigauge the bearings, hand lap the valves, check piston side clearance, etc. See what all need replacing.