Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Mamo Motorsports MMS220 Build Thread

Search this Thread

Old 10-06-2015, 10:17 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Mamo Motorsports MMS220 Build Thread

After months of research, I have finally started ordering parts for my heads / cam / intake build! I have spoken with many vendors, and it’s a shame I couldn’t have used a few of them, but in the end I chose to go with Tony Mamo / Mamo Motorsports.

I decided to do a build thread because I really appreciate the other build threads on here. I have learned a ton from reading JakeFusion and Darth V8r’s threads, and in the end they gave me the boost I needed to start my build.

It should be an interesting process, since I have never done anything like this before. I have done heads / cam my old 4.6L mustang, but those are completely different animals – They don’t even have pushrods!

My goal is simply to have a bad *** street car.
Here is my part list:

MMS220 Heads Milled to 60.5cc (11.45cr w/ .040 gasket) Hollow intake valves and spring upgrade
227/231 114+2 Comp Cam (spec’d by Tony)
Pro 10mm Yella Terra Rockers
Johnson 2126 lifters
Ported FAST 102 w/ NW 102 TB
FAST 36lb injectors
Cometic .040 head gaskets
Yank SS3600 Converter

Mods already done to the car:
QTP Long tubes
DR Gas X-Pipe w/ flo-pro twisters
SLP Lid
Suspension/brakes

While it’s all apart, I’m also going to replace the motor mounts, all belts and hoses, and add a trans cooler. I started tearing it apart Saturday, and made decent progress --

Old 10-06-2015, 10:20 AM

Received 1,835 Likes on 1,145 Posts

AAAWWWWW ****!!!!

If you run into any issues along the way, give me a shout. Call Tony at 2am at least once. He's usually tinkering away in the Bat Cave at those hours anyway.
Old 10-06-2015, 10:20 AM
TECH Senior Member

Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts