Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

First build on LS1

Search this Thread

Old 08-29-2021, 12:16 AM
Teching In

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default First build on LS1

Hi all, brand new to this whole LS scene, I just got a 2000 TA with the ls1 in it, it is 100% stock except a magnaflow muffler and it also has a ram air hood even though it isn't a true WS6. I have a list of upgrades that I want to do, this is a incomplete list and I'm wondering what I'm missing that I should definitely do to support the power it will have with the listed upgrades, or please let me know if anything I have listed is not needed at this point or will not fit with other items. Also, this is my first time ever building an engine so please excuse my ignorance about certain things. List below, thanks!

Fast Toys Ram Air Kit FTRA 1998-2002 Camaro & Firebird

LSX 92mm Black Intake Manifold

GM LS Big Mouth LT 92mm Throttle Body w/ IAC & TPS

00-02 LS1 Flowtech Longtube Headers (Ceramic Coated)

MagnaFlow Street Series Cat-Back Performance Exhaust System

98-02 LS1 ASP Racing 25% Underdrive Crank/Alternator Pulleys

LS Series Lingenfelter GT1-1 Camshaft 229/242 - .631/.631 Duration 114 LSA

Lingenfelter LSx Dual Valve Spring Titanium Retainer & Seals Kit

Lingenfelter Gen III/IV LS1/LS6/LS2/LS3 Pushrods 5/16 7.350 Length

LS1/LS2/LS3/LS6/LS7 Morel Hydraulic Roller Drop-In Lifters (7717)

98-02 LS1 Harland Sharp Roller Rockers - 1.7 Adj

98-02 LS1 Cloyes Double Roller Timing Set

Old 08-29-2021, 05:15 AM
TECH Resident

Received 59 Likes on 50 Posts

Here are some things to consider.

You will need a tune.
Replace the oil pump while you’re in there.
I’d replace anything that’s hard to get to such as the sensors behind the intake.
plugs and wires and gaskets.
Headers I would go for 1 7/8” primary vs 1 3/4”
I’d research on exhaust systems before settling on a particular brand.
Head bolts.
Get an ARP bolt for the balancer so you can reuse it vs the stocker.