Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Specific Piston-to-Valve Clearance Questions

Search this Thread

Old 12-18-2004, 09:35 PM
Super Hulk Smash

Received 137 Likes on 114 Posts

Default Specific Piston-to-Valve Clearance Questions

For all the do-it-yourselvers, wouldn't it be great if cam clearance was available somewhere easy to find? I think the p-t-v clearance of cams is about as important as power or drivablity for the avgerage diy'er. I am a shadetree mechanic with limited but expanding skills. As such, I'd like to bolt on a head/cam combo, without flycutting.

I like the 230-234 duration cams, either F13 or F14, TSP 233/239, or G5X2/3, or the MTI Y1 with AFR 205s. The F13 and TSP 233 both seem to make incredibly strong torque numbers without losing a lot down low, or peaking obscenely high. I like LG's AFR package with Comp 921 Springs and having it milled .042" for 59cc yielding about an 11.4:1 CR. I'd like to have high compression for low-end and midrange power with the small port of the AFRs for the same reason. If I put a cam in, I want it to be cammed, and I want 50rwhp+ out of it. With that said, I have a couple of specific questions:

I have read before that the AFR offers .020" more clearance than either a stock or ported LS1 head, even with its 2.02 valve. So, if the AFR head is cut to .042" but starts with .020" more to work with, I've effectively only cut about .022" right? Outside of the T-Rex, the only cam I've been able to find p-t-v clearance on is the new TSP 233/239, which offers .100" clearance intake and exhaust with the stock heads. Since I'm not a math wiz, and I don't really understand how p-t-v is calculated, will the 233 clear the AFR's milled .042" if they effectively only shave off .022" clearance? That'd leave .078" by my calculations, and anything over .070" is realively safe, correct?

Also, does anyone know the p-t-v clearance of the F13 or F14, Y1, or G5X2/3 or any other 230-234ish cam?