Generation III Internal Engine 1997-2006 LS1 | LS6
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Where does the big sound of a cam come from?

Search this Thread

Old 03-07-2006, 07:27 AM
10 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Where does the big sound of a cam come from?

I looking for a cam for my LS1, and am trying to figure them out. I want a cam that will work well with a blown engine(mines not blown yet, but will be eventually). But I also want a cam but the big "old school" sound. Where does the sound come from in a cam? LSA? Duration? Lil' help please.
Old 03-07-2006, 08:27 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I think it's partially from the LSA, but I'm no cam expert?
Old 03-07-2006, 08:33 AM
10 Second Club

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

If the lope at idle is what you're referring to, that's caused by overlap. Overlap is the duration that the intake and exhaust valves are open at the same time.......quick and dirty explanation, someone here will elaborate I'm sure. I think overlap would be bad in a FI setup though, you'd be bleeding off all the benefits of forced induction wouldn't you?
Old 03-07-2006, 08:37 AM
Launching!

Overlap/Duration/LSA

You really can't build an engine that is powerful N/A and blown at the same time.
It's better to put all your eggs in their respective baskets.

You CAN build it with a good blower cam now... but you'll be down on power until 'eventually' comes.

BTW, Lope isn't neccessarily best for blown applications.
Old 03-07-2006, 08:39 AM
Launching!

Took me too long to type!!!

Yeah overlap isn't really desirable for FI, that's why most turbo guys are running reverse split cams.
Old 03-07-2006, 08:59 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Originally Posted by FunkyTownFBody
Took me too long to type!!!

Yeah overlap isn't really desirable for FI, that's why most turbo guys are running reverse split cams.