Generation IV External Engine LS2 | LS3 | LS7 | L92 | Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust | Ignition | Accessories
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

LY6 question on intake

Search this Thread

Old 12-11-2018, 10:29 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default LY6 question on intake

I am new to LS world, I bought a 2009 LY6 from the boneyard with low miles for a great deal. Will be changing the cam to what the hot rod article had when they deleted the VVT and first went with LQ9 cam, then a trackmax cam that pumped out 514hp and 493 tq with no loss down low. Until I am ready for boost, this would be perfect.

Plan is either a 81-87 Regal or 99-04 New edge mustang.

I have all of the supporting parts figured out, mounts/K member, exhaust, trans (TKO 600 Ford, quick time bell), etc.

I know what I would need to either run the stock truck in the G body or switch to LS3 intake for Mustang hood clearance. From what I have read they flow almost the same, so no need to change for G body.

In reading the two shootout articles for EFI vs Carb, both using the LS3 as control, I was reallly surprised by the torque numbers the Holley dual plane intake had down low.

The dyno sheet seems weird, as they don't show the holley below 3300 but they show the LS3 starting at 3000, I think the torque spread below would have been even wider

Anyway, I like simple, I hate carbs, but I do already have a sniper tbi 650 hp system that I am no longer using.

Would I really be hurting myself that much if I went holley dual plane with msd ignition and sniper TBI?

The loss of HP along the curve was very small, especially in relation to gain in torque down low.

the car will be 100% street driven. I live for the seat in pants feeling.

Help me understand why most say this is a bad idea.

The sniper solves the cold start and tuning issues a carb would have.

Does a dual plane really run that crappy on a LS engine?

the dyno sheet doesn't show the real world, so looking for opnions.