Generation IV Internal Engine 2005-2014 LS2 | LS3 | LS7 | L92 | LS9

Stock LQ9 w/ vic jr and carb-what cam???

Search this Thread

Old 10-21-2009, 12:23 PM
On The Tree

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Stock LQ9 w/ vic jr and carb-what cam???

If you had a stock lq9 with untouched 317 heads and a carbed victor jr intake setup what off the shelf cam would you put in it and not have to worry about ptv clearance (I don't want to buy head studs and gaskets right now), and turn it 7k in a 2800lb car with an auto, 4k stall, and 4.30 gears? Or is there no good choice for this setup without pulling the heads and checking everything? BTW, I do realize a spring upgrade is necessary before some one throws that out there. I was thinking something in the 5.8x lift range and 23x duration, and around 110-111 lsa. Any help would be greatly appreciated, I've been building ford engines for the last 10yrs and this is my first trip into LS territory so I have no past experiences to go from anymore.
Old 10-26-2009, 11:44 PM
TECH Resident

If you plan on upgrading your heads, I would look into 600+ lift. If you want to leave the heads stock, not much over 600 lift will do you any good. 7k is a lot on a stock bottom end. I would shift around 6800 and have your power peak around 6300-6500. Get yourself some dual springs regardless what anyone says about beehives. They will last much longer and you won't have to upgrade for a higher lift cam later on. Longtubes I'm assuming? Something along the lines of a 236/232 and around 110lsa would suite youjust fine. The reverse split will build big torque numbers.
Old 10-27-2009, 02:48 PM
TECH Veteran

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by ramdaspadhye