LS1TECH - Camaro and Firebird Forum Discussion

LS1TECH - Camaro and Firebird Forum Discussion (https://ls1tech.com/forums/)
-   Generation IV Internal Engine (https://ls1tech.com/forums/generation-iv-internal-engine-80/)
-   -   What degree thermostat runs best? (https://ls1tech.com/forums/generation-iv-internal-engine/1921539-what-degree-thermostat-runs-best.html)

bortous 06-13-2019 10:36 AM

What degree thermostat runs best?

I just received an email from Mezeire enterprises in regards to the included thermostat that comes pre-installed with the pump.
It's a Staton 13008 180 degree.
Mezeire confirmed with me that my Tridon high flow thermostat will not be compatible with this pump.
The pump uses the traditional GM / Chevrolet thermostat found in SBC and BBC engines from the '70s and '80s.
My only other option is to use one of mezeires other thermostats and I have my eye on a 160 degree thermostat.

https://www.meziere.com/Products/Coo...60-degree.aspx

What do you think I should do?
Use the one that comes with the pump or purchase the 160 degree version?
Personally I prefer, the 160 degree so engine runs cooler but I want to see your views before I make any decision.

fnbadaz06 06-13-2019 10:42 AM

The cooling and operating tempature is dictated by cooling capacity and flow, not by the actual thermostat. A 160 will open sooner, but if you don't have the required cooling capacity or airflow, the engine will still overheat.
Personally, I would leave the 180 in to get the coolant and motor up to operating temps sooner....that's what I'm doing with my EWP I have on my LS7.

bortous 06-13-2019 10:46 AM

Originally Posted by fnbadaz06 (Post 20109280)
The cooling and operating tempature is dictated by cooling capacity and flow, not by the actual thermostat. A 160 will open sooner, but if you don't have the required cooling capacity or airflow, the engine will still overheat.