LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

Anyone familiar with real 96/97 SS please help.

Search this Thread

Old 03-29-2010, 08:33 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Anyone familiar with real 96/97 SS please help.

Ok...I'm a newbie here and did a search but came up with more posts than I could read but none answering this question. I just got my first 4th gen (well first running one) lol. It's a 97 Camaro SS and is a great car except the previous owner sold the hood and ram air set-up. I think he was going to swap to 98+ parts or something. Anyway...I have NO hood at all and a regular z28 air intake installed to get me running. I really want the SS parts, but figure I won't ever find them for sale so I will go aftermarket. My question is: What aftermarket hood is most like the OEM one? I'm not just meaning in outward appearance, but also compatibility with an OEM air box OR maybe the RK Sport air box that looks similar to OEM. All the other Super Sport items are still there along with faded SLP stickers in the door jambs, VIN confirms it's a true SS, but I don't have the SLP build number yet. Any and all help is greatly appreciated.
Old 03-29-2010, 08:41 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

Trust me, you're better off with just getting an SS hood and using a typical CAI. The stock SS airbox sucks for HP, and clutters the engine bay.
Old 03-29-2010, 08:49 PM
TECH Regular

contact slp with the vin they might still sell the ss hood. you have to prove too them that you own the car.
Old 03-29-2010, 09:10 PM
11 Second Club

Factory SLP SS hood is discontinued. Used or aftermarket only options
Old 03-29-2010, 10:10 PM
TECH Fanatic

Originally Posted by FASHOOTER