LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

New LT1 Owner-Any Suggestions Welcome

Search this Thread

Old 12-14-2005, 03:11 PM
TECH Veteran

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default New LT1 Owner-Any Suggestions Welcome

Well, actually haven't taken possesion of the car just yet. But it is mine. I am buying my parents 1996 Impala SS. All original car, and only 60,000 original miles on the entire car. I am new to the LT1 motor, the last project I had was an LS Based GMC Sierra Truck. It was the 5.3 motor and a crew cab that I got into high 13's. I'm hoping to do better with the Impy.

I haven't seen to my Impala's on this site, but hoping there are some things to learn about them here.
Old 12-14-2005, 03:19 PM
12 Second Club

You are getting one of the all time great muscle cars IMHO. Congrats on your purchase! As far as mods, 96Capricemgr is the "B-BODY GURU" on this site so, I will let him chime in Welcome!
Old 12-14-2005, 03:29 PM
TECH Veteran

Yeah, I've got a good idea of the type of mods I'm wanting to do, just haven't gotten down into any particulars just yet. It will be a never ending project I imagine, since I won't have to worry about this one being a daily driver. Really looking forward to tearing into it though.
Old 12-14-2005, 03:36 PM
TECH Apprentice

There are some nice dual exhaust systems available for the Impy's

First thing I'd do is remove the "home base" air silencer.
Old 12-14-2005, 03:59 PM
On The Tree

Originally Posted by Chris 96 WS6
There are some nice dual exhaust systems available for the Impy's

First thing I'd do is remove the "home base" air silencer.
The $5 sewer pipe mod does wonders.

Visit http://www.impalassforum.com The site is down right now but it is a good source for info.
Old 12-14-2005, 04:09 PM
TECH Veteran