LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

Old waterpump is out, new E-wp going in, questions on opti and timing cover.

Search this Thread

Old 07-19-2008, 09:21 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Old waterpump is out, new E-wp going in, questions on opti and timing cover.

So I just pulled the old mech waterpump and I'm switching to an E-wp, couple of questions while I have it pretty much stripped to the long-block.

First, I've been having some trouble in higher rpm ranges since my last mech waterpump pooped on me and I've been suspecting the opti. It is original with about 124k on the clock, looks nasty as hell and I think it needs to be changed. Where's the cheapest AC Delco to be had? Also, I've never done a distributor before and I found these reverse tork bolts on the outside, are those the only two holding it on? Once I have it off and the new one in hand how do I get it clocked correctly?

Second, I'm going with an E-wp so I also bought a double roller timing chain since I figured I won't need the wp drive any longer. How do you get rid of the drive gear? Must you weld in a freeze plug to the timing cover after you have it out? If so, what size plug am I looking for? My car is OBDII so I have the crank or cam position sensor (? I think both?) will this be a problem with the new timing chain?

Finally a gasket question. I've found a gasket set for the LT1 that has pretty much everything I want to replace, but I'm not sure what kind of material is best for all the ones I'm replacing: Timing cover, oil pan, waterpump, and intake manifold. Any recommendations?

Thanks guys, I know I've got alot of questions, but I've been putting off this project for lack of money for about 2 years now. I hope to have it running very soon
Old 07-19-2008, 09:45 PM
TECH Addict