Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

Inspecting a t56 out of the car. (chasing a vibration)

Search this Thread

Old 03-20-2010, 05:40 PM
TECH Addict

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Inspecting a t56 out of the car. (chasing a vibration)

So, long story short, I have been chasing a god damn vibration for over 2 years in this god damn car. I have seriously replaced everything brand new except for the transmission.

I have the OE trans in it currently with 115k miles, and I have a wicked vibration over 70mph.

The vibration is noticeable with the car in gear and cruising... but as soon as I push the clutch pedal in... it gets way bad. same thing if i put it into neutral. As soon as i get below 70mph it vanishes.

I have had my wheels straightened, new tires. same vibration

took an alum driveshaft from a 01 camaro, new ujoints, vibration went down a little bit... but not much (i guess alum dampened the vibration)

had my OE steel shaft balanced with new u joints... same vibration

Found my Torque Arm was cracked, so I replaced it along with a relocation xmember... set the pinon angle to -2. same vibration.

Had my rear completely rebuilt (minus posi unit and axles)... same vibration. (axles are straight)

When I did the clutch, I decided to put the ebay transmission i got 3 years ago into the car. I dont remember when the vibration started either.

so I put the OE trans back in, same vibration.

I DONT KNOW WHAT IS WRONG. So what I want to do is check the ebay transmission and see what could possibly cause this. I am at wits end, please help

I grabbed the yoke on the d/s in the car and wiggled it a little bit up and down... there is slight movement... I guess thats the output shaft bearing? or the bushing?
Old 03-20-2010, 05:53 PM
TECH Addict

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

If the vibration is there with both transmissions then it could be the flywheel and clutch is not balanced
Old 03-20-2010, 07:27 PM
TECH Addict