Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

PLEASE HELP ME!!! VIDEO INSIDE!!! Slave cylinder question.

Search this Thread

Old 02-02-2012, 03:48 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default PLEASE HELP ME!!! VIDEO INSIDE!!! Slave cylinder question.

Here we go, I have lost my old acct info, here is my new one.

I have had clutch problems for a long time. I have a newer Orielly Master cylinder, a brand new Orielly slave cylinder, and a brand new stage 2.5 competition clutch disk with a valeo pressure plate (also new). I installed it all one by one in that order. Original problem was pedal stuck to floor at high rpm shifts. NOW, after puttin a new master and slave, I decided it had to be pressure plate. After completing the install, I couldn't get the car into gear, it rolled when I tried. If I start it in gear, it trys to roll away if you don't hold the brake. Obviously, the clutch isn't fully disengaging. I thought I maybe had the wrong pressure plate or needed a shim, but I discovered this: The slave cylinder only travels about 3/8"-1/2". It looks like it could possibly travel a little over 1" if it was working correctly. Please let me know if this is normal or if I have a defective slave or master. Here is a video:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iKsgT8-EAmI

PLEASE HELP ME!!! I need to know if I should go get another one before I go through the hassle of installing it all for the 3rd time just to find out this won't work. ANY AND ALL HELP IS GREATLY APPRECIATED!!!
Old 02-02-2012, 06:09 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

i cant tell in your vid. is your throwout bearing missing?
Old 02-02-2012, 06:11 PM
TECH Resident

i didn't watch the video, but what you're describing sounds amazing like you need to do a little more bleeding.
Old 02-02-2012, 06:45 PM

Jayzeig: Yes, I took the throw out bearing off so that I could get the spring off the slave. This makes it easier to take the measurement for a shim. This is a brand new slave.