Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

New slave, leak from... Bleeder valve?

Search this Thread

Old 03-19-2015, 10:26 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New slave, leak from... Bleeder valve?

So, let me say up front I'm new at this. This is my second foray into car repair /modding... I went from never having done my own oil change (yes, I'm embarrassed) straight into replacing motor mounts and installing long tube headers. But that was a different story. This second adventure was to replace and upgrade my clutch system.

I've been learning a lot from the forum; I can't say enough (good) about how much you guys have helped me, even though I think I've only ever posted once.

So after a weekend of putting in a new Monster Twin Disc and slave cylinder (plus pinion bearing and rear main seal), and spending waaaaayyyy too long fighting to stab the freshly rebuilt stage 3 tranny back in, I got the Tick master installed today. Feeling like it was almost over (woohoo!), I started bleeding the system (with Tick speed bleeder)... ... ... "Why is this taking so long?"

The fluid was never coming out of the bleeder line.I finally heard it was dripping out of the bell housing. Four-letter words cannot begin to convey my dismay and frustration....

It suddenly occurred to me then that I can't recall torquing down the bleeder line onto the slave cylinder. (Because, like I said -- new at this. Plus tired and dumb).

So that's probably my issue. I made sure it's not leaking from the line between master and slave. And I had the bleeder open, to be sure.

Anyway, thanks for listening to me whine. Getting to the point, two questions:

1. Has anyone out there found a way to get at the bleed fitting without dropping the transmission or cutting a hole in their floorboard?

2. Once I do get to it (probably by dropping the transmission...ugh. ) what's the torque spec for that sucker? I can't find one anywhere.
Old 03-19-2015, 11:12 PM