Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

more issues--early engagement...

Old 08-14-2005, 07:15 PM
9 Second Club

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Default more issues--early engagement...

weel after almost a month of trying to get this thing to disengage i finally broke down and got the ram slave shim and installed it this am. now i can get it engaged but its right off the floor. maybe and inch. makes hustling thru the gears almost impossible. i have a ram adjustable master and its adjusted almost 3/4 the way out already. the pedal is now beginning to sit higher than the brake pedal. it also seems to be bled correctly. is there any way of raising this engagement point. i dont like it at all.

btw--its a mcleod single disc with aluminum flywheel, ram master, and 01 slave. all new not even 4 miles on it.
Old 08-15-2005, 11:43 AM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Early engagement

I just put a ram clutch in my 98 TA and am having the same problem. I put a new master and slave in and the shim to even be able to put the car in gear. Now I can get it in gear but I can still feel it is just grabbing when it is fully disengaged, this makes it impossible to shift the car quick. Ram gave me a whole list of things to check like travel to diswengage the clutch, slave travel. I love the clutch but i'm wiyh you on the fact it sucks. I have a spec flywheel and a ram powergrip hd clutch.
Old 08-15-2005, 10:48 PM
9 Second Club

ttt. i dont want to tear this thing up and right now its my only mode of transportation. i have to force it in reverse.
Old 08-16-2005, 09:07 PM
9 Second Club

would performing the drill mod or having another brand adjustable master on the mcleod clutch cause this?? i really need some help with this.
Old 08-17-2005, 10:13 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Did you bench bleed the master?

http://mywebpages.comcast.net/buschm...utchbleed.html