Military Hotrod Club For our members in the Armed Forces

VA/FHA/Conv/Purchase Home Loans

Search this Thread

Old 03-24-2014, 12:57 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts

Default VA/FHA/Conv/Purchase Home Loans

Hello fellow vet LSX fanatics-

I see too many times these days that my fellow service men and women are being taken to the cleaners with their home purchase are refinances. I have been a loan officer for 5+ years now, and work in the VA department of NLC loans. If anyone here is in the purchase market, or is working on a refinance and needs help or has questions, I am here to help even if you are already ion process with another lender. This market has been up and down, but it seems more than ever we are being taken advantage of and misinformed about our benefits.

I can answer general questions here, and more specific ones via email.

Thanks all, and keep it at redline!

*note* title edited for clarity

Last edited by coltboostin; 07-29-2014 at 11:19 PM.
Old 03-31-2014, 04:09 PM
TECH Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I need to refinance my house in North Texas (VA home loan), only we dont live in it anymore due to a career move down to Austin. We are currently renting it because the market in that town sucks... is there any way to refi?
Old 04-01-2014, 06:38 AM
TECH Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Same question as DSIM.
Old 04-01-2014, 07:54 PM
Kleeborp the Moderator™

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Look here:

http://benefits.va.gov/homeloans/irrrl.asp

My wife and I went through this process with our VA home loan when the interest rates were in the basement...they do charge the funding fee all over again, and you'll also likely have to do another appraisal, so you'll have to weigh the cost vs. benefit.

I'm not sure how many other ways there are to refi on a VA loan...I'm sure there are other options out there, but I'm no home loan expert.
Old 04-02-2014, 08:10 AM
TECH Regular

Bam, right on the page...