New LS1 Owners - Newbie Tech Basic Technical Questions & Advice
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1st Mod Lid...Cold Air Package too?

Search this Thread

Old 12-04-2008, 05:08 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question 1st Mod Lid...Cold Air Package too?

Well as I have said before I am new to this Chevy LS1 stuff so I seem to ask a lot of basic questions...so here is another one.

I have read numerous threads on here and almost everyone agrees a "Lid" should be the first mod. My question is should you also get the Cold Air Package which attaches below the lid? or is this a waste? Remember the car is stock and will be built slowly over time. I plan on finishing the intake upgrades first. Exhaust will be next before moving to the internals of the engine. Of course all of this is after new carpet, headliner, and paint.

Thanks for any info.
Old 12-04-2008, 05:10 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts

Ya the ram air is worth it. I did the same for my first mod.
Old 12-04-2008, 05:12 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

The Cold Air Systems for our cars are not a waste. They give some good gains and are worth every penny, go with the Fast Toys Ram Air system or Super Sucker. SLP sells one that is decent, but the previous two are most popular. If you want to know what type of horse power gains you'll get or how much you'll shave off the quarter do a search
Old 12-04-2008, 05:27 PM
TECH Addict

Thumbs up

It can't hurt with the ram air lid.
I would look into a new intake as well as a tune after the ram air lid and you should be quite pleased.
GOOD LUCK!!!
Old 12-04-2008, 06:28 PM
Staging Lane

Yeah, I have been looking at the LS6's on ebay and will probably go that route. I also looked at the two ram air kits TheBlueKnight mentioned. The super sucker looks like it might be the best with it pulling air from the nose of the car and not at the radiator...of course it is the most expensive.
Old 12-04-2008, 10:05 PM
11 Second Club